Tags

Came across some news about a technology I didn’t realize existed, and actually was an issue once complained about by our doc, so I’m impressed that it appears to be in use already.

There’s now a screening process on fertilized eggs to determine if there are chromosomal abnormalities prior to transfer implantation.  This can be particularly helpful for women of “advanced maternal age” as my wife likes to put it.  I had something called a “fragmentation test” but that was just a DNA test on my side, not the whole kit and caboodle.  Yes, I just said kit and caboodle.  I talk like I’m an 80 year old model train enthusiast.

Anyway, in the test group it apparently increased chances of success significantly, and it seems like it has great potential to help a good number of people.  Check out the article for all the details.

