I might be late to the show on this one, but this is just so incredibly cool that I’m compelled to share…

A book by Erik Kessels and Joep Eljkens, “In Almost Every Picture #7” documents the life of Ria van Dijk through annual photographs at a shooting gallery, starting in 1936 when she was 16 years old.  Apparently, every time Ria hit the target at the shooting gallery, it activated a camera, which took a photo.  With the exception of WWII years, Ria has done this every year of her life.

The spectrum of expressions, clothing styles, and backgrounds is really just so fascinating to look through.  I encourage you to check out the site above for more, but I’ll throw some in as a teaser:

1936

1938

1953

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1961

1975

2009

The book is available on Amazon.  I think I have to buy it now…

And yes, I do have to admit that I was secretly hoping to find The Observer in a few of them… but no such luck.

