I’d like to raise a glass to these researchers. In fact, I’d like to raise several to them.

I present to you what might be the single greatest chart, ever, in the history of mankind:

That such behavior is detrimental to health and has few, if any, positive consequences, is irrelevant for the Hypothesis.  It does not predict that more intelligent individuals are more likely to engage in healthy and beneficial behavior.  Instead, it predicts that more intelligent individuals are more likely to engage in evolutionarily novel behavior.  Since the consumption of modern alcoholic beverages – including binge drinking and getting drunk – is evolutionarily novel, the Hypothesis would predict that more intelligent individuals are more likely to engage in it, and the empirical data from the UK and the US confirm it.

Read the article for all the particulars of the study, which is really quite fascinating.  And of course, quite fantastic.

If I’m going to destroy my liver, I’m damned well going to do it with the hope that it’s my superior intellect that’s causing me to do so (and not just because I try mask the silent desperation I sometimes feel at the gravity of life’s circumstances and decisions).  God bless you, Satoshi Kanazawa.  Your research has changed my life.

Time to brew a new batch!  I’ll call it Kanazawa Kolsch!

