Tags

, ,

In reading Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell, I was struck by his notion of “mastery”.  According to his research, 10,000 hours is all you need to put in to master something.

“In study after study, of composers, basketball players, fiction writers, ice-skaters, concert pianists, chess players, master criminals… this number comes up again and again. Ten thousand hours is equivalent to roughly three hours a day, or twenty hours a week, of practice over ten years… No one has yet found a case in which true world-class expertise was accomplished in less time. It seems that it takes the brain this long to assimilate all that it needs to know to achieve true mastery.”

Thinking about this, I’m concerned about where I’ve focused my hours.  What am I working towards mastering?

  • Drinking beer
  • Swearing
  • Eating
  • Using an elliptical machine
  • Changing diapers
  • Drinking beer
  • Typing
  • Playing Fantasy Baseball
  • Saying “yes dear” to my wife
  • Texting
  • Drinking beer

This is depressing.  I really need to get a hobby.

